Buffalo Veggies with Quinoa

OMG. Let me just start by saying how much I buffalo wings. As in, as a kid I would order extra buffalo sauce to further drown my wings in. At the ripe old age of 21, though, I have come to terms with the fact that fried chicken wings doused in a buttery hot sauce are not, in fact, the apex of nutrition. Thus, to get my buffalo fix, I have been forced to find alternatives that aren’t quite the calorie/gut bomb that wings are. 


So my solution: buffalo cauliflower and broccoli over quinoa with a blue cheese Greek yogurt sauce. All I can say is my buffalo craving is fully satisfied. 


RECIPE

Ingredients:

1/2 head cauliflower

1/2 head broccoli

2 tbs + 1 tsp buffalo hot sauce (I used a combo of Frank’s RedHot and Cholula)

Garlic salt to taste

1/2 cup quinoa

1/4 cup Greek yogurt

1 tsp mayo or ranch

2 tbs blue cheese crumbles

3 tbs olive oil

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp salt

Extra hot sauce & blue cheese to garnish

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400. Chop broccoli and cauliflower into bit size pieces. Lay out on roasting pan, drizzle with hot sauce, 2 tbs olive oil, and garlic salt to taste. Mix to distribute evenly (I usually just use my hands to do this, it’s easier than using some kind of utensil). Place in oven for 15-20 min until outsides show a slight char. 

2. Cook quinoa in 1 cup water on stove. Bring to a boil then simmer until all water has been absorbed. 

3. While quinoa and veggies are cooking, combine Greek yogurt, blue cheese, mayo or ranch, salt, garlic powder, 1 tbs olive oil, 1 tsp hot sauce. 

4. Place veggies on quinoa. Add yogurt sauce, sprinkle extra blue cheese crumbles and drizzle extra hot sauce over top if desired. ENJOY THE FLAVOR BLAST. 

Leave a Reply

