Simple Shakshuka

I’m a big fan of shakshuka, as it’s pretty basic to make and you can also use a wide variety of ingredients. I usually opt for the veggies in my fridge that are on their way out, leftover marinara sauce, and of course, garlic. It’s a yummy and healthy way to start the day. 


Today’s variety uses some sad looking arugula, the last of my garlic, and some pesto for added flavor. I also used Greek yogurt to give the dish a bit more creaminess (like in my vodka sauce recipe!). I like to consider this a kitchen sink dish, as you can pretty much use whatever veggies you want or have to use up and it turns out well every time. 

RECIPE

Ingredients

1 egg

1 cup marinara

2 tbs Greek yogurt

1 tbs pesto

2 cloves garlic

1/2 cup arugula

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400. Mince garlic and chop arugula. 

2. Combine all ingredients except egg in a small ramekin or glass pyrex. Create an indent in the center, crack egg into it. 

3. Bake until egg whites are set, about 20 min. I like to add some hot sauce and garlic salt to mine, but the dish is just as good as is too! Enjoy. 

Leave a Reply

